Skip to content

Comment on ‘Beauty’

April 15, 2010

I loved the video! Nice beat! I saw it on IHM’s blog… Made me feel like stamping my feet, shaking my head like crazy and dancing!

“Does being considered beautiful help a person, specially a woman, live a better life? If she does not make a career out of it, how does being seen as beautiful affect her life?”

Being beautiful does affect a woman’s life, even if she doesn’t make a career out of it. Like you said, confidence.
I might feel horribly unconfident in a room full of conventionally beautiful women. (but i think this might have to do with the other stereotypes we fix to beauty: bitchiness, pettiness, snobbishness or at the other extreme, purity and ‘goodness’. Did you just picture a brunette and a blond? :P )
On the other hand, I might not. It miiiiight depend on the compliments i was paid on the way to the room ;D , or how much i love my new shoes!

Beauty is subjective. Some people do look at us through the eyes of society’s perceptions. Others have their own ideas of beauty.
I like what Maya Angelou says.

“Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.

I’m a woman…

It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.”

The woman in the poem is confident, and loves herself just the way she is. That is the secret of her beauty. She sees her body as an instrument too.
She’s fit “The stride of my step” and loves her strong, glowing limbs
and
She’s confident “The curl of my lips….the flash of my teeth” and other women see it.

Basically, when she looks in a mirror, she’s proud of what she sees.
And i think that’s what beauty is all about.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers