Skip to content

We The Patriots

January 26, 2006

Written in 2005-2006

When I was seven patriotism was standing proudly, waving a flag.

When I was fourteen it was writing against students carrying an ever heavy bag!

At eighteen, it was using car-pool instead of my brand new car.

And voting for a worthy politician, not a super star!

At twenty-five, with an IIT degree to my name,

I was a patriot staying in India, not a part of the brain drain.

At 40, patriotism was regularly paying every tax,

And having the officials after me with an axe!

At sixty is was teaching my grand children all I know,

Of Gandhi, of Nehru, see how their faces glow!

And now as my back grows weak and my white hair is slowly falling

I do not sit idle and free, forever going a-calling.

Even now at eighty, I help wherever I can,

Writing to the government, improving on their five-year plan.

I may not have been a patriot, as the history books define.

But I’ve done my bit for my country, this motherland of mine…

As I sit here on my wicker chair,

Watching my city grow,

My thoughts go back to childhood

And to a boy I used to know

He never lived to pay his taxes,

Or see his grandchild on his knee

He gave up his life on the border,

So we could live with dignity.

He was one of those proudly mentioned

On the honor roll of the army.

Many names lie beside his, Brave men , for all to see.

Brave men fighting on the border…

Fighting for you and me…

Brave men fighting on the border…

Fighting for you and me…

– Tejaswee Rao, IX A, Roll no. 36

4 Comments leave one →
  1. rajesh permalink
    January 27, 2011 12:42 pm

    Touching…..

  2. July 14, 2011 10:04 pm

    awww…!

  3. June 8, 2012 11:41 pm

    Wow, she wrote this in standard IX?? Brilliant !!

Trackbacks

  1. Jazbaa volunteers celebrating our heroes - Volunteer Weekly

Leave a Reply

