Skip to content

I am not a Feminist.

January 21, 2010

It’s like I say the F-word, and people go “OHhhhhh!!!”.

So let’s get this straight.

I am not a feminist. Not the type of feminist you think of the minute you hear the word.

I’m not a bra-burner. In fact the term ‘bra-burner’ is false. There aren’t any records available to prove that women actually ever burned bras (although they did toss them into a trash can!)

I’m usually mild tempered. Not aggressive at all. Haha! But honestly, the nonsense some people talk, i find it hard to believe that ANYONE wouldn’t turn aggressive!

Feminists are Sexually Repressed. Well i suppose a country like India would be FULL of feminists then! But it isn’t. And PUH-lease! Bipasha Basu, Angelina Jolie, Sushmita Sen, Aishwarya Rai… aren’t these women feminists too? Would you call these women sexually repressed?

Man-hating!!! Well, i suppose that comes from the idea that most feminists are female chauvinists and so hate men. I disagree. Feminism is about being equal and being given the same opportunities- as men-  (to live, to love, to learn!)

Lesbian. All lesbians aren’t feminists. All feminists aren’t lesbian. Considering how many heterosexual girls would feel that being labeled lesbian means there’s something wrong with them (not that there is!). A subconscious way of making sure girls ‘stay in their place’? Losers!

So there you have it. I’m not going to be labeled a feminist. Not if you think any of the above makes me one!

I’m a feminist because i believe that guys and girls should be treated equally. If a girl slaps a guy, it is as unfair as when a guy slaps a girl. No wait. Make that,

I’m a feminist because i believe in no gender INEQUALITY. And i’m a feminist, because i’m a humanist.

Oh and i skipped Hairy Legs! Considering how most feminists are believed to have hairy legs… oh well, “another stupid stereotype” is all i’m going to say!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. irlgirllol permalink
    November 4, 2010 7:46 am

    I hate how they’ve taken the feminist word and twisted it into something bad. I always call myself a feminist, I refuse to loose that title because of the ignorance that surrounds it.

  2. October 15, 2012 8:49 am

    nice!!! so i consider i too m a feminist!!! sm intresting wrds here in this blog…. I think i’ll b visiting agn!!!
    Happy writing!!!

Leave a Reply

