Skip to content

An Afternoon In a Garden

March 4, 2010

(Written by hand. Edited a bit.)

Today I spent my afternoon sitting in the college back lawns, for the first time. It was warm and the sun was shining down with a brilliant joy, (almost like it was gleaming in suppressed anticipation, waiting for the summer).

The back lawns, are well… lawns. The only trees are at the edges.

I found a place under one.

Half in the shade, half in the sun.

It was peaceful. A quiet place to sit, to think.

The grass is lush and thick at this time of the year. Behind me, to both sides, and in front of me, there are flowers, pink and yellow, bright red and purple. And so many types! I take out my book to write when someone wanders by (a little noisily). I guess it’s not just me who thinks that this makes a beautiful place to sit. She waits a while and a friend joins her.

They open their books. I try not to listen, but it filters through. It’s French they’ll be studying today.

I was examining some of the stranger looking insects on the grass, one of which had decided that my shoe was a nice place to roost, when the two girls exclaimed loudly.

I looked around. One had a ladybug balanced on the tip of her pencil.

The other then said, rather authoritatively.

Pata hai (you know), they say ki (that) when a ladybug sits on your hand,wish maang lena chahiye (you should ask for a wish).”

I had a ladybug sit on my hand this morning… do i still have a wish pending?

I know what i’d wish for if i do.

I’d wish that I could say i love you too…

They got up and left right after that… unfortunately, only minutes before i had to leave.

:) Oh well…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ayush permalink
    September 1, 2010 3:44 pm

    yeah mom used to say so . about the lady bug wish thingy. :P

  2. Teresa permalink
    September 23, 2010 1:03 am

    Love this too! Beautifully written. I can just imagine those flowers.

Leave a Reply

