Skip to content

What my Grandfather taught me…

April 19, 2010

There is one scene that stands out quite strongly in my memory, and it has to do with what my grandfather taught me.

Class 3. Summer Vacation. Delhi

I noticed a rifle leaning against a wall in my grandparents house.

To mum: “Mamma, who’s gun is that?”

Mum: “It’s nana’s gun.”

Coincidentally, at school, we’d recently been asked what our parents and grandparents did (for a living).

Me: “What does nana do?”

My grandfather happened to be passing by. He sat down next to me, all 6 feet of him, and looked affectionately down into my little face, and with twinkling eyes, and a wide grin said,

“If anybody asks you, you tell them,  your nana is a professional killer.”

Some weeks later. Back in school.

“What does your grandfather do?”

“Ma’am, he’s a professional killer.”

I’m pretty sure my teacher did a double take!

Hey i was just 9!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 7:51 pm

    lol teju…

  2. August 20, 2010 11:24 pm

    LOL!LOL!! Imagining the teacher’s reaction to this :P

Leave a Reply

