Skip to content

What’s your Favorite place in the world?

July 15, 2010

What is it?

I suppose I could say Switzerland. It’s the only place I’ve been to, outside India. It’s beautiful. The sky, the earth, the water, everything… it’s so fresh and cool and peaceful and green. But most of all, it’s clean.

Now I suppose you’d ask ‘why outside India?’ Isn’t there any place IN India that I love? Or that I could call my favorite place in the whole wide world? I have traveled around the country a lot. It shouldn’t be difficult to find one place I really love.

The thing is, when you’re traveling all the time, it becomes difficult to get attached to a place. The way I’ve grown up, I don’t really belong anywhere specific. Whether I’m in the north or the south of the country, I’m not from there. I say I was born in Bombay, but I don’t feel like I know that city either. Not even Pune (the place I spent five of the most crucial years of my life) is really home (or a favorite).

Another reason I’d probably say Switzerland, is that it’s such a rich country. Who wouldn’t want to belong there! Plus, I spent just 15 days there. If I had to… say work there, I don’t think it’d be a favorite too long.

I could name my most beautiful, dream like, wished for, needed place in the world. But not favorite…

A dream answer?

My favorite place in the world is in a book. Once your nose is buried in there, it’s all up to your imagination.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 5:02 pm

    i kind of relate to this..
    and i love the last bit you say about a book! :)

  2. July 16, 2010 7:27 pm

    I expected an answer like ‘My home, my room…” :)

  3. King of KONG permalink
    July 21, 2010 5:42 pm

    Its better to be a traveller more than a dweller….theres more adventure to it!!….Lucky you :)

  4. Varun permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:01 pm

    i can so relate to that.

  5. August 20, 2010 11:17 am

    My favorite place in the world? Certainly, my beautiful Utopian dreamland. Once I’m in there, there is no stopping my heart from beating cheerfully faster….Nothing beats it. It’s my world, trees, goats, cows, dogs, kids…. All it takes to reach there is to close my eyes and imagine, LOL!!

  6. April 17, 2014 4:55 pm

    its my favorite place too :)

  7. February 10, 2016 9:13 pm

    you are so lucky!!

    I also think books are the most favorites of places in the world… They take you to places you have never been to… Real travel only adds to the zing of the thing!

Leave a Reply

