Skip to content

College Again! And my ‘shift’ key breaks.

July 22, 2010

(This one had to be published on the 20th… :P)

WOW.

Today was a SUPER exhausting day! And one of ‘those’ days that stand out as the best days of your life. When I’m old (one day) and lying in a bed, knowing (“somehow”) that my time has come, I’ll see my life flashing before my eyes. I’ll want today to not just be in the life-movie, but all the fun we had to be in the closing credits (and bloopers!). Haha! :P

Today was the first day of college. We had our Orientation Day program (dance, drama, music!). It was SO much fun being on stage again! I don’t consider myself a good actor, but being a part of a troupe, hanging out, coming up with ideas, fooling around, sweating like I’ve spent a summer hour in a Delhi kitchen, the smell of the stage, the bright lights, listening to the audience’s reactions, covering up mistakes, technical difficulties, warm ups, dancing like maniacs, shedding inhibitions like old skin, and just feeling like I belong, all, make up the brilliant experience of acting in a play!

We’d been sweating it out in the auditorium for a week (or more) and on the day of the performance, it finally rained! After the program, we ran out into the college front lawns, and danced wildly under the almost-black clouds. Poor fuchchas, they probably thought we were mad, the way they stared! After Jhumbalika we were back in the college building, soaking wet, when the first first-year said that she wanted to join the DramSoc. Our President looked so happy!

Hehe… after all that fun, I fell ill. Perhaps the glorious rain is to blame! Aw well… it was worth it! I’m so glad college has re-opened! It’s nice to be back: getting late for class, chatting on the way to class, grabbing something quick to eat between classes, messaging friends when the teacher/lecturer arrives before they’re in class. Oh it’s good to be back! (I suppose I’ll be mourning the loss of the vacations within a week, though!)

‘How many boards would the Mongol hoard, if the Mongol hordes got bored?”

-Calvin

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 12:15 pm

    Wow what an amazingly invigorating post! Loved it. Made me want to get up and get moving and smile and look at the good weather outside… loved how you can play with words to bring the feeling alive.

  2. King of Kong permalink
    July 24, 2010 2:25 am

    Honestly……i miss my hostel life sooooooooooooooooooooo much!!!..especially my room mates!!…and of course…the ultimate freedom…FREE WILL!!

  3. August 13, 2010 7:18 pm

    God Bless you

  4. August 13, 2010 7:27 pm

    To think I discover your fabulous, full of life blog after you’re gone. Haven’t stopped weeping since I found out. Hopefully, you aren’t weeping where you are. Always stay bubbly, kiddo.

    Hugs!

    • August 16, 2010 1:08 pm

      I hope so too. U r a sweetheart Tejaswee.

  5. Jolly permalink
    August 14, 2010 11:49 am

    wow!! To be reading this now and feeling suddenly alive and enrgetic…….
    You are the blessed one, child….stay happy whereever you are…..

  6. August 16, 2010 11:06 pm

    i know what has happend is for the best… and i know you are happy wherever you are now… and i hope ur family is strong too… but still there is a part of me… not a minor but a major part of me wants you back… and i want to visit this blogspace time and again… read your updates… share your views – share your fun… n celebrate the sisterhood which i only wish for now…

    n well this one was super cool post :)

  7. August 20, 2010 11:12 am

    I read this over 10times now, just falling short of words to say something. Look at the post, every word you’ve written there, it’s is so full of life….Wish, hmmm, I could only keep wishing…….Nevertheless, you have celebrated life like most of us would not have. Maybe, maybe, that is why life got so possessive of you to steal you into a whole new world….

    I am not even a reader of your mom’s blog, but it stings, it hurts to know you are not going to respond…..

  8. August 24, 2010 5:50 am

    Girl I hope (and pray) you have this much fun and alot more up in heaven!!

  9. I for an Eye permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:57 am

    I mus hv come here time and again since you have left this place…everytime I write something and then erase it thinking about what to write…words seem so less and inefficient right now…

    I thought that the only connection I have with you is your Mom…(honestly I am not a regular reader of her blog either but now I make sure I visit her to know more about you and her blog fills me with a different positivity everytime I read her posts)…The day I read this post I recognized the other connection too…
    Lady Shri Ram College for Women…though you dint mention once in this post about the name but there are certain things that only a LSRian says in that peculiar way…only those who have been to that place would know why it is so special…
    Girl no wonder people admire you so much…you are going to live for sure… in that EVERY effort that we all make to remember you
    and as someone said earlier May you have even more fun and spread happiness wherever you dwell next…in Heaven, back on earth or in our hearts!!!

  10. valli permalink
    September 16, 2010 1:56 am

    God Bless you…

  11. Teresa permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:11 pm

    Just one of my favorites. She really brought words alive. Just dance TJ.

  12. Arpita. permalink
    December 14, 2013 5:41 pm

    Though you’re no more but you’re an inspiration to me. I can connect with you’re life..

Trackbacks

  1. She will live forever in our hearts. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker
  2. She will live forever in our hearts… « Nogenderinequality's Blog
  3. Dealing with a loved one’s death | Expressions - Bhagwad Jal Park
  4. “The pain will never go, but you will smile again.” « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker
  5. “The pain will never go, but you will smile again.” | Coping with Grief and Loss
  6. Bollywood in Truck Art :) and I’m Back! « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker
  7. Life they say is a journey towards perfection` « That little something called 'life'
  8. Last year, these days. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker
  9. We can’t change what we would give anything to change, but we can control how we deal with it. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker
  10. Life they say is a journey towards perfection | Finding meaning...

Leave a Reply

