Skip to content

Un-stereotypically Yours!

July 2, 2010

I caught this little pearl rolling off IHM’s Blog, and boy, is this spreading like the flu!

So here’s my confession. My Sins against Gender Stereotypes:

1. I play the drums and I love rock (not heavy metal though)

2. I’ve been glued to the TV since the world cup started. (Longer than my brother, oh the horror!!)

3. I’m not a soft talker… or laugher, I have opinions and give them. (never the only-to-be-seen-not-heard type of kid)

4. I’d rather kick or punch, than slap. I can snap my fingers too! hehe…

5. I get angry really quick. And once I’m a friend, I’m loyal forever more. (a la Veeru and Jai) Also, most of my friends are guys!

6. I would rather wear comfortable clothes than anything that just looks good (sneakers instead of chappals)

7. I looooooooooooove dogs! And  I’m not averse to getting dirty or muddy or ‘icky’

8. I don’t scream in horror at the sight of a cockroach, lizard or snake. In fact (lol) as a kid, I used to pick up snails and chase squealing girls around the school yard! (I kept the snails right back though, no worries!)

9. I dislike strong perfumes, no matter how ‘sweet’, ‘summery’, ‘heavenly’, ‘flirty’ or ‘fruity’ they smell!

10. My favorite colour is a shade of blue!!

I really really dislike stereotypes. And having to fit in.

Each person is an individual, is unique, even if the only difference between one and the next is a different favorite shade of blue! And believing that there are ways of classifying people for ease of understanding is ignorant. It makes people angry and resentful and frustrated.

Plus, if everyone in the world behaved stereotypically, then we’d be living in such a boring life!

So here’s to the no-so-stereotypical! Cheers!

And here’s who I tag!

MeharliberalcynicSunitaSwayambhu MukherjeeVipul GroverAvada KedavraKarthikNethraThe FoolNerina, Giribala, MehakUnmana and Imp’s Mom

Here’s the tag – Please list at least ten things you have ever wanted or done which your gender is not supposed to.

The tag is called My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes’. And you must tag twelve blogging friends :twisted: or else you will be cursed to wear blue clothes pants if you are a woman and pink shirts if you are a man – for next twelve years :twisted: haha! :P

11 Comments leave one →
  1. liberalcynic permalink
    July 3, 2010 1:49 am

    Thanks for the tag! Will get to work

  2. July 3, 2010 10:33 am

    thanks for the tag…but i dont think I can think of ten!!! I cry n yell at times, but then, RF does that…as does Ronaldo. & Suarez yesterday. So I dunno if crying counts. Oh, & a lot of my friends are girls….but that only makes people think I’m a flirt, not feminine or anything.

  3. July 3, 2010 10:34 am

    But do keep tagging me in future, please? I’ll do my best next time, promise!!!

  4. July 3, 2010 6:42 pm

    Thanks for tagging me. Ashwini tagged me before you. Anyway, I’m gonna take both your tags.

    Even I love dogs. :)

  5. July 4, 2010 11:51 am

    LOL :) “And once I’m a friend, I’m loyal forever more. (a la Veeru and Jai) ” – if you can compare yourself to Jai and Veeru in anyway you are a sinner :lol: Women are supposed to be mean to each other. :twisted:

    Playing drums, not screaming at the terrifying :mrgreen: sight of an insect – and watching World Cup make you SAGS alright. You are invited to join other sinners on facebook at,

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=135519419800755&v=wall

Trackbacks

  1. The ‘feminine’ side? | SNAFU
  2. Being Me | Confessions of a novelist

Leave a comment